Golf Environment Awards

Since 1995 the aim of the Golf Environment Awards (GEA) has been to recognise, reward and promote outstanding individuals and golf courses, no matter how big or small, for the time and effort they have put into protecting and preserving their unique surroundings. The GEAs are managed and administered by STRI and each entry is independently judged, not on the scale of project nor their financial investment, but on what the golf course has achieved and how it’s achievements have benefited the surrounding environment and local ecology.

Applicants to the Golf Environment Awards can choose from four categories to enter:

1.Environmental Golf Course of the Year Awarded to golf clubs that brilliantly demonstrate efficient management across each of the following areas:

  • Nature Conservation Management
  • Turfgrass Management
  • Waste Management
  • Water Management

2.Conservation Greenkeeper Award

Awarded to outstanding individuals who make significant contributions to the success of the clubs environmental and ecological management and hence make a fundamental positive impact on the surrounding landscape and biodiversity.

3.Outstanding Environmental Project of the Year

Awarded to golf clubs who have implemented a successful environmental project, with clear objectives and targets on it’s contribute to a better environment and are making sound progress in fulfilling the goals of the scheme

4.Operation Pollinator Award

Awarded to golf clubs who consistently deliver outstanding ecological habitat creation and management.

A winner for each of the three GEA categories and Operation Pollinator is announced at an awards evening each January during BTME in Harrogate. The three big winners are rewarded with a trip of a lifetime to Europe and the chance to visit some of the world’s leading golf facilities and sites of specific ecological interest. The winning golf clubs and runners-up receive considerable publicity in national and regional media in addition to their individual prizes.

5.The Home Unions National awards

For clubs in each region of the UK, these new awards are designed to encourage clubs, just starting their ecological and environmental journey, to enter the GEAs

Entry to the awards is completely free, and Scottish Golf would encourage every eco-conscious golf club to consider submitting an application, no matter how big or small.

2019 GEA finalists from Scotland included Banchory GC, Montrose Links and St Andrews Links Trust, who followed 2018 winners Carnoustie Golf Links. Also recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Award was Gordon Moir from St Andrews Links Trust.

For more information on the Golf Environment Awards please go to: or email   

Deadline for entries into the 2020 GEAs is the end of July 2019