Scottish Golf Reveals European Team Championship Selections

Scottish Golf has announced Scotland’s line-up for the European Team Championships today, each taking place 10th-14th July 2018.

The four championships will tee off in the same week, with the Ladies Team Championship taking place at Golf Club Murhof, Austria, the Girls Team facing off at Forsgardens Golf Club, Sweden, Scotland’s Amateur Team taking on the Faldo Course in Berlin and the Boys Team going for glory at the Golf Resort Kaskada Brno, in the Czech Republic.

Newly crowned Scottish Amateur Champion Gemma Batty (West Linton) will form part of the Ladies team competing in Austria, accompanied by current women’s Order of Merit leader Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey). Four further selectors’ picks went to experienced Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm), Chloe Goadby (St Regulus), Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) and Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne) who recently represented Great Britain and Ireland in the Curtis Cup in the USA.

The Girls’ team for their European team event at Forsgardens, Sweden features reigning Scottish Girls Champion Hannah Darling (Broomieknowe) and current Girls Order of Merit leader Louise Duncan (West Kilbride). Carmen Griffiths (Aboyne), Lorna McClymont (Milngavie), Jennifer Rankine (Haggs Castle) and Kirsty Brodie (Strathmore) complete the team.

Meantime, top-ranked Scot and recent US Open qualifier Ryan Lumsden (Royal Wimbledon) is among the European Amateur Team representing for Scotland, teeing up alongside Stuart Easton (Irvine), Euan McIntosh (Turnhouse), Sandy Scott (Nairn), Jamie Stewart (Old Course Ranfurly) and Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie).

Current Scottish Boys Amateur Champion and leading Boys Order of Merit star Greg Dalziel (Airdrie) will head up the Boys Team competing at Kaskada Brno, Czech Republic accompanied by Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle), George Heath (Woodsome Hall), Ruben Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle) Connor McKinney (Joondalup CC)and Calum Scott (Nairn).

The Scotland teams are sponsored by Aberdeen Standard Investments.

European Ladies Team Championship –  Golf Club Murhof, Austria

Gemma Batty, West Linton

Eilidh Briggs, Kilmacolm

Chloe Goadby, St Regulus

Connie Jaffrey, Troon Ladies

Hannah McCook, Grantown on Spey

Shannon McWilliam, Aboyne

European Girls Team Championship – Forsgardens Golf Club, Sweden

Kirsty Brodie, Strathmore

Hannah Darling, Broomieknowe

Louise Duncan, West Kilbride

Carmen Griffiths, Aboyne

Lorna McClymont, Milngavie

Jennifer Rankine, Haggs Castle

European Amateur Team Championship – Faldo Course, Berlin, A Rosa Scharmutzelsee

Stuart Easton, Irvine

Ryan Lumsden, Royal Wimbledon

Euan McIntosh, Turnhouse

Sandy Scott, Nairn

Jamie Stewart, Old Course Ranfurly

Euan Walker, Kilmarnock Barassie

European Boys Team Championship – Golf Resort Kaskada Brno, Czech Republic

Jack Broun, Ayr Belleisle

Greg Dalziel, Airdrie

George Heath, Woodsome Hall

Ruben Lindsay, Ayr Belleisle

Connor McKinney, Joondalup CC

Calum Scott, Nairn