World Handicap Seminar dates announced

The World Handicap System (WHS) is set to launch in 2020 and will replace the six different systems currently in use by over 15 million golfers around the world.

It will bring these together into a single set of Rules for Handicapping, enabling golfers of different abilities to play and compete on a fair and equal basis, no matter where they play.

The R&A and The United States Golf Association (USGA) have developed the World Handicap System to include

  •  Course rating and slope rating
  • Maximum Handicap of 54
  • Abnormal course and weather conditions adjustment
  • Competitive and recreational scores can count for handicap
  • Handicaps calculated from an average of a player’s most recent scores

To help golf clubs prepare for the launch of WHS in 2020, Scottish Golf will be hosting an initial phase of 12 seminars around the country aimed at educating clubs to ease transition to the new system.

Seminars will take place between the 5th August and 29th August 2019. These evening Seminars will take place between 6.30pm and 8.30pm, with two delegates per club with responsibility for handicapping invited to attend.

Venue Date Booking Link
Torwoodlee Golf Club Monday 5th August BOOK HERE
Crichton Golf Club Wednesday 7th August BOOK HERE
Ratho Park Golf Club Thursday 8th August BOOK HERE
Royal Musselburgh Golf Club Monday 12th August BOOK HERE
Glenbervie Golf Club Wednesday 14th August BOOK HERE
Ladybank Golf Club Thursday 15th August BOOK HERE
Murrayshall Golf Club Monday 19th August BOOK HERE
Kilmarnock Barassie Golf Club Wednesday 21st August BOOK HERE
Haggs Castle Golf Club Thursday 22nd August BOOK HERE
Royal Dornoch Golf Club Tuesday 27th August BOOK HERE
Nairn Dunbar Golf Club Wednesday 28th August BOOK HERE
Newmachar Golf Club Thursday 29th August BOOK HERE

For any clubs that are unable to attend one of the workshops, log-ins will be made available to recorded online classrooms. For more information on getting access to this, please email handicapping@scottishgolf.org